Sunday Cookin’

Good evening!

If you are here from Tina’s blog, welcome! I love hearing from readers, so leave me a comment!

Another productive Sunday for the books. It’s funny, because before I graduated college I would basically use the weekends to do absolutely nothing (besides be a typical college student ;) ) and then freak out Sunday evenings about all I had to get done. Now, I use my weekends to catch up on organizing and cooking so the weekdays are easier. Oh, how times have changed.

This morning we headed to church and then immediately came home to accomplish our separate tasks. Ryan’s: Run 8 miles. Brittney’s: Cook & clean.

I’m really liking Sundays to prepare several meals to eat throughout the week. Today I made pulled pork in the crockpot (easy recipe that I will share later!), homemade macaroni & cheese, Cowboy Potato Chowder & homemade peanut butter.

Probably the best mac and cheese I have ever made. Definitely one you’ll want to bookmark once I post!

Mmmm. Another great Sunday dinner.

I doubt this will happen every Sunday. Actually, I know it won’t because the next two Sundays we are out of town but some of these meals I’m freezing since I know we will feel lazy after travelling. No preparation = failure!

Other to dos of today was to catch up on my IIN work and wedding stuff. I failed at doing anything wedding related. I’m in a rut and I just can’t motivate myself to do anything with it! Four months to go…

Another task I accomplished…signing up for this:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Yes. I signed up for a race. A¬†running race. Granted, it’s just the 5K, but…I can barely run for 5 minutes let alone a 5K! They say signing up for a race serves as motivation. Here’s to hoping!

I plan on doing the Couch to 5K program as my training plan. It feels slightly ridiculous to have a training plan for running 3 miles, but you gotta start somewhere. The plan is running 3 days a week, so my goal is to run once on the treadmill and twice outside to get my legs used to running. Don’t worry, I’m not giving up my beloved Body Pump though! I still plan on going to all the usual classes I go to and just squeezing in the running somewhere in between.

I convinced Ryan to run it with me so I’m not dying running it by myself. He will at least serve as motivation for me to keep going.

So that’s my Sunday. Off to finish the weekend relaxing!

Question: How do you like to spend your Sundays?

P.S. So close to launching the new design of the site!!!

8 comments
  1. I am a new reader who has found you through Carrots and Cake :-)

    I have to confess, I always intend on doing food prep on Sundays, but it rarely happens. I usually do a few hours of cleaning, and many hours of relaxing ;-)

    Wow, your pulled pork looks SO delicious!

    • Glad you stopped by!

      I know, prepping on Sundays goes in waves for me. A few weeks I enjoy it and the others I end up relaxing :)

  2. akismet-f0c92a900b2d44b04cee2054be4e52c7 said:

    I can’t believe you made all that stuff in one day! I like to make a big meal that we can use for leftovers. My ideal Sunday is a long run with Oliver, cooking and making the house sparkling clean.

    • It didn’t even really take me that long to make. Maybe 2 hours for everything? Saves me time during the week so I’m all for it.

  3. I love Sundays for catching up on errands and things around the house! Can’t wait for your pulled pork crockpot recipe, that’s one of my husband’s favorite meals :)

  4. I’ve always used Sundays to prepare for the rest of the week.

    I feel like it’s written law that men have to love pulled pork :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

