Super Woman Syndrome

So you may not think I realize this, but I do know that this blog has been fully of ramblings so far. Honestly, you should feel lucky I’m still frequently posting. Life always seem to pick up during the summer, and this year it is no different.

I’ve always been the type of person who will sign up for everything under the moon.

Need someone to bake cookies for the company party? I’m your girl!

Sign up for multiple  (read: too many) freelance writing assignments? Yep, still me!

Think I can fit in working out, walking the dog 2x daily, cooking a full on meal every night, plan a wedding, go to summer events, spend time with Ryan, blog, keep up with friends, clean the house, etc, etc, etc? Mmhmm, apparently I’m super woman!

Basically, what I’m trying to say is I have a case of the Super Woman Syndrome. Over the last few weeks I’ve realized I’ve signed up for WAY too much. I’d love to be able to do it all, but truth be told, I can’t. I. Just. Can’t.

And I, first of all, needed to realize that. Obviously, I had to learn the hard way, but at least I realized.

So I cut a few things. A few volunteer opportunities that I couldn’t handle. And that worked fine.

Until this week. Now this week I feel like everything else I’m involved with has picked up times 100. And I still can’t do it all. It’s impossible. I’m not the type of person who will half-ass anything, so I give everything my all. With giving everything I’m involved with my all, everything starts to seem more like a task/chore than enjoyable.

I’ve decided I’m not going to let this continue. This feeling of overwhelming, uneasy, Ican’tdoanythingsoI’mjustgonnagiveup feeling.

So, I promise to myself (and my um, one reader?) that I will tone down on signing up for jobs, opportunities, positions, etc. I know the areas of my life I want to devote time to and which I do not, now I just need to slowly rid my life of unwanted tasks.

Hold me accountable, people.

4 comments
  1. Kim said:

    It makes me tired just reading about everything you do in your busy life.

    I’ll hold you accountable… maybe. 😉

    • Agh I know. I took on WAY too much. But after the end of July I will have let up on a few things to make way for wedding planning 🙂

Leave a Reply

