French Onion Soup Sandwiches

Wait, what?!

How can a soup…be made into a…sandwich? Impossible? No way!

I love Iowa Girl Eats and all of her recipes (and crafts!) that she blogs about. When I saw this recipe  on her blog a couple of months ago, my jaw dropped. I love French Onion soup. And I love sandwiches.

The two together?!

Holy. Cow.

French Onion Soup Sandwiches

Adapted from Iowa Girl Eats

Ingredients:

  • 1 large sweet yellow onion
  • 1 teaspoon butter
  • 1 teaspoon extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon worcestershire sauce
  • 1 bay leaf
  • pinch of dried thyme
  • salt & pepper
  • 1/4-1/3 cup beef broth
  • 4 slices good quality bread
  • butter for spreading
  • 4 slices Munster/Pepperjack Cheese

Her recipe used gruyere/fontina cheese, but I had munster & pepperjack on hand so I used that. Don’t get me wrong though, gruyere is by far the best. cheese. ever. So use it if you have it.

Heat up the butter, EVOO & worcestershire sauce in a skillet.

 


I used Lea & Perrins  brand, but any kind will do.

After 3-4 minutes throw in the onions.

 

Sizzle those babies for 20-25 minutes, making sure they are nice and brown. Pour in splashes of beef broth whenever the onion look like they are crisping up.

Here come the good part. Lather up your bread with some butter. Place butter side down on a griddle and top with cheese & then the onions. Place other piece of bread on top, butter side up.

 

I made two mini sandwiches because I had french bread on hand.

Served with some roasted cauliflower (seasoned with garlic salt & TJ’s 21 seasoning salute).

  

Yum.

Question: What’s your favorite soup & sandwich?

 

Leave a Reply

