$3,000 For Lunch & Coffee?!

Tuesday has come and nearly gone! Quick & busy day at work…that’s how I like it :).

Zumba was on the schedule tonight for the workout, which I’m usually pretty pumped for, but not tonight. I love me some Zumba and I would nearly venture to say it’s my favorite workout (because it doesn’t feel like I’m working out) but I was really not feeling it tonight. No biggie, sometimes you just need a break!

Dinner

Tonight on the menu…homemade pizza!

 

 

 

 

I am homemade pizza’s biggest fan. No seriously, I LOVE homemade pizza. I mean, A) it’s cheaper, B) you can put whatever toppings on it you want (endless choices I tell you!) and C) it’s so much healthier than takeout pizza. And better tasting. Booyah.

Ryan is a little pickier than I am on pizza. He’s more of a few toppings w/ cheese  and I’m more of a if we have it in the fridge I put it on there, within reason 🙂

Much better than anything you can order!

—-

So I read this article at work today and I still can’t get over it. To summarize, a new study done in the U.S. found that workers spend nearly $3,000 a year on lunches & coffee. LUNCHES & COFFEE. Um, what?!?!

Excerpt from the article:

“Meanwhile, half of the American workforce buys coffee regularly at work, spending more than $20 a week on it, an average of approximately $1,000 a year. And two thirds of American workers buy their lunch instead of packing it, spending an average of $37 per week. This means that, on average, American workers are shelling out nearly $2,000 a year on lunch alone.”

Why? Why waste that much money on something that isn’t even enjoyable? Don’t get me wrong, every now and then I get a coffee or lunch out during the work week because sometimes you have limited time or just don’t feel like packing a lunch or making your coffee. But 2/3 of American buy there lunch instead of packing it almost every day? So not necessary.

There are so many delicious lunches you can make at home or you can easily bring leftovers. Think of what you could buy with $3,000 extra dollars?! Endless choices! Okay, not really but that’s still a chunk of change.

Question: What are your thoughts on this article? How often to you take your lunch/coffee to work?

2 comments
  1. What a huge waste of money! I love packing my own lunches and bringing my own coffee. I think of a lunch out (or eating out for that matter) as more of a treat. If you do want to cut costs though, this is an easy way to do it.

  2. I know! I found that so insane. I love bringing my own stuff too. And I definitely view it as a treat…I can’t believe some people do this every day!

Leave a Reply

