Tofu Stir Fry

I know. I know.

I leave for a week with barely a peep and then I come back with Tofu Stir Fry?! Who eats…tofu besides weirdo hippie people that wear tie dye shirts and sport the peace sign any chance they get?

Okay, so more than just hippies eat tofu. But you get the idea, tofu sometimes gets a bad rep and I am here to tell you it doesn’t have to be that bad!

The first time I ever had tofu was not a good experience. Not good at all. Actually, up until a few days ago, tofu was probably the worst tasting food I had ever had.

It was during college that I first tried it. A bunch of us girls in the house (I lived in a sorority type house) wanted chinese food so we all ordered from our beloved Rice Cafe. Many o’ dimes have I spent at that place.

Okay, that’s besides the point. So we ordered our food and one of the girls ordered their meal with tofu. I told her I had never had it before and she insisted that I try it. One small little bite and I thought I was going to hurl. It was mushy, flavorless and the weirdest texture ever! So gross.

Well, lo & behold tofu was on sale a couple weeks ago at the grocery store and I either had a lapse of memory or I was feeling wild because it somehow ended up in our cart. (Ryan was skeptical but didn’t say anything).

Well friends, Friday was the night to finally put that tofu to use. And let me say, I am so glad I tried it again!

Tofu Stir Fry

Tofu adapted from The Perfect Baked Tofu via Healthy Tipping Point

Ingredients

  • 1 block of tofu, extra firm
  • 2 1/2 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 1/2 tbsp honey
  • 1/2 tbsp chili powder
  • 1/2 tbsp black pepper
  • 1 tsp paprika

  • 2 cups cooked brown rice
  • Half a head of broccoli
  • Half a head of cauliflower
  • 3 carrots
  • 1/2 yellow onion
  • 1 green pepper
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tsp minced garlic

Directions for tofu:

  • Pre-heat oven to 375 degrees.
  • Press excess liquid from tofu.  Wrap several paper towels around tofu, and place tofu in between two plates.  Let stand for 15 minutes.
  • Cut tofu in 1 inch by 1 inch pieces.
  • In a small, microwave-safe bowl, mix EVOO, honey, chili powder, black pepper, and paprika.
  • Microwave marinade for 35 seconds and stir thoroughly.
  • Spray cooking sheet.
  • Coat each piece of tofu in marinade and place on cooking sheet.
  • Cook at 375 for 30 minutes, turning once.

Directions for veggies:

Chop all vegetables. Heat olive oil & garlic in large skillet. Toss all chopped vegetables into skillet, cook until tender. Mix in the same marinade you made for the tofu.

Top brown rice with vegetables & tofu. Enjoy!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’m sorry it took me so long to come back to you, tofu.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I had the leftovers today and the tofu was even better! I would suggest letting the tofu marinate before baking it!

Question: Have you ever had tofu? Yay or nay?

2 comments

Leave a Reply

